Print this page

Regions & Islands

Greece Thrace region North East Aegean Island Macedonia Thessaly Region Epirus region Central Greece Argo Saronic Islands Pelloponissos Dodecanese Islands Crete Island Ionian Islands Sporades Islands Evia Island Cyladic Islands

Regions & Prefectures

Greece consists of ten administrative regions of which Macedonia is the largest with an area of 34,177 sq. km. Fifty-four “Prefectures” divided the regions; the religious community on Mt.Athos is a self-governing territory. Prefectures consist of local councils or communities of which there are 1033 in total.

Administrative Regions in Greece


The seven main island groups under Greek jurisdiction are:


Previous page: Greek Mythology
Next page: Region of Thrace