Print this page


The island of Skyros with an area of 208 square kilometres comes under the jurisdiction of Evia.
The islands main town is also called Skyros. This is one of the most charming towns in the Aegean , walking around its narrow lanes lined with small houses. You may be invited to see inside one of these white washed houses. On the hill above the town, stood an acropolis later turned into a fortress. The ruins there are from the Byzantine and Ventian periods. The Archaeological Museum exhibits artefacts, from the Mycenaean and the Roman times. The Faltaits Museum contains items from the islands past, items on show include old costumes, ceramics and furniture.


Previous page: Evia
Next page: Cycladic Islands